• Home
  • Sports
  • History of Lord’s Cricket Ground Aka Lord’s London

History of Lord’s Cricket Ground Aka Lord’s London

History of Lord's Cricket Ground Aka Lord's

Lord’s Cricket Ground, commonly known simply as Lord’s, was established in 1814. Named after its founder, Thomas Lord, it is owned by Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) and is the home of Middlesex County Cricket Club, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), the European Cricket Council (ECC) and, until August 2005, the International Cricket Council (ICC). Lord’s is widely referred to as the Home of Cricket and is home to the world’s oldest sporting museum. As many as 5 ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 matches, including final match of the tournament are slated to be played at Lord’s.


The final of the 1975 ICC Cricket World Cup was played in Lord’s Cricket Ground, London on 21 June. West Indies defeated Australia by 17 runs to lift the first ever World Cup Trophy. The final of the 1979 ICC Cricket World Cup was played in Lord’s, London on 23 June. This was the second time that Lord’s had hosted an ICC Cricket World Cup final. The match was won by the West Indies when they defeated England by 92 runs to lift the trophy.

The final of the 1983 Prudential Cup was played between India and West Indies at Lord’s on 25 June 1983. This was the third consecutive World Cup final appearance for West Indies. India playing their first finals defeated the West Indies to claim the title. It was the first World cup win for India.

The final of the 1999 ICC Cricket World Cup was played at Lord’s, London on 20 June 1999. This was the fourth time Lord’s had hosted the final of an ICC Cricket World Cup, previously hosting finals in 1975, 1979 and 1983. Australia won their second title by defeating Pakistan by 8 wickets in the final. The final of the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup was played on 28 April 2007 at the Kensington Oval, Barbados. Australia defeated Sri Lanka by 53 runs to win their 4th World Cup and 3rd in succession.


First Test England v Australia – Jul 21-23, 1884
Last Test England v India – Aug 9-12, 2018
First ODI England v Australia – Aug 26, 1972
Last ODI England v India – Jul 14, 2018
First T20I England v Netherlands – Jun 5, 2009
Last T20I Nepal v Netherlands – Jul 29, 2018


June 23 (Sunday): Pakistan vs South Africa – Lords – 2:30 p.m.
June 25 (Tuesday): England vs Australia – Lords – 2:30 p.m.
June 29 (Saturday): New Zealand vs Australia – Lords – 2:30 p.m.
July 5 (Friday): Pakistan vs Bangladesh – Lords – 2:30 p.m.
July 14 (Sunday): THE FINAL

Related posts

How To Improve Relationship with Customers?

Adeel Sajjad

Pakistanis Have Assets Worth $150 Billion In UAE, SC


Google Plus To Shut Down Accounts From 2nd April 2019

Azmi Tech

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.